In April of 2011, under the direction of then PSA President Reata Strickland, the Mark G. Foster Scholarship was established. Mark was active in the formation of the PSA and was part of the Professional Staff Constitutional Convention that voted to establish the Professional Staff Assembly. He served as the PSA President for the 2007 – 2008 year and as chair of Assembly Operations for the 2010 – 2011 year.

Our colleague, friend and long-time member of the University of Alabama community, Mark was a graduate of the University and served the UA community in many capacities. At the time of his death, he was the Assistant Director of Judicial Affairs. Mark also served as an on-call dean for the Division of Student Affairs, collaborated with UAPD to resolve student issues and worked part-time with the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. His dedication to students, professional colleagues and the University was abiding and evident to all who knew him.

The $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a member of the UA professional staff each fall semester. The scholarship is paid out in two $500 sums over two semesters.

To apply for this scholarship you must:
• Be enrolled as a current UA student in good standing, seeking a bachelor’s or graduate degree.
• Be employed by UA at least 6 months meeting the following criteria:
Employees of The University of Alabama holding full-time regular professional (non-faculty) positions that are eligible for full benefits and classified Equal Employment Opportunity 3 (EEO-3) shall be considered members in the professional staff employee group.

Apply for the 2019-2020 scholarship.  The PSA Professional Development Committee is responsible for coordinating the nominations process and selecting one recipient each year.  The deadline for applications is August 15, 2019 at midnight.

If you would like to make a donation to the Mark G. Foster Scholarship Fund, visit the online giving page.


Mark G. Foster Scholarship Recipients


Captain Daniel Sanford

2018 Mark Foster Scholarship Recipient


Jennifer Patrick
2017 Mark Foster Scholarship Recipient


Corrie Harris 2016 Mark Foster Scholarship Recipient

Cori Perdue
2016 Mark Foster Scholarship Recipient


Chris Chirino
2015 Mark Foster Scholarship Recipient